Twitter translation…sometimes you need it

I am laughing as I write because I just got a note on Facebook that asked, “Why do so many of your updates look like a foreign @language?”  This is not the first time I have been asked this question and I am certain that most people on Twitter have been asked to translate tweets at a point…so I will attempt to translate into something that makes sense to everyone.

Tweet………a message limited to 140 characters

RT …………..this is a Retweet (Repeat) of someone else’s Tweet.  (similar to forwarding an email you like)

DM…………..Direct Message – this is between two people instead of to everyone on Twitter.

@……………..This little sign is an “address” on Twitter.  It’s the best way to indicate your name, it’s how people reference you.

#……………….This is, hmmm, it’s a reference for a topic.  So, if you see #dogs – in a Tweet, the tweet is likely to be about dogs.

So, I think I covered the most major items. So below is a sample translation of something I would actually tweet:

RT @SterlingHope – we are proud to support @BFAS @CARE and @charitywater www.SterlingHope.com  #socialgood

Translation: Repeating what Sterling Hope said, which is, “We are proud to support Best Friends Animal Society, CARE, and Charity Water.  See our website.  We are about doing social good.”

Hope this helps and if you have any questions I didn’t cover, just ask.  I’m happy to help!

About amberlcleveland

Entrepreneurial Marketing Professional who is passionate about Social Media and Social Good. My mantra is "endless possibilities."
This entry was posted in Social Media, twitter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment