Keep It Simple – Using Storify to Create a TweetChat Transcript

Storify Logo via Storify.com

Storify logo via Storify.com

This week’s Keep It Simple Post is to offer tips on using Storify to create a tweetchat transcript.  I am fortunate to host a couple of tweetchats and participate in several others.  It seems that many of the chat transcripting platforms have gone by the wayside and it was a struggle to create a transcript at the conclusion of  a chat, which what prompted this post.  (You can also apply these tips to create a Storify post about a particular hashtag, your general tweet stream etc.  Storify also integrates with other social media platforms, but  this post will focus solely on using it with Twitter to create a tweetchat transcript.)

If you are interested in learning more about Storify, they offer a guided tour on their website.  In order to try out the tips in this post, you will need to create a Storify account. (I am not affiliated with Storify in any way, just have found it to be a helpful tool.)

The simplest way I have found to create a transcript for a tweetchat:

  1. Open Tweetchat (or whichever platform you use to chat…hootsuite, tweetdeck, etc.) and select the appropriate hashtag for the chat.
  2.  During the chat, favorite the tweets that you wish to include in your Storify post.
  3. Open Storify, click “Create Story”,  populate the headline/description information, click the “twitter” icon and then click favorites.
  4. Scroll down to the time when the chat started, click and drag the tweets from the right column into the left column.  *If you don’t start at the bottom, the transcript will be in reverse chronological order, which isn’t very logical…pun intended:)
  5. You can insert text above tweets, which is very good place to indicate the questions that were being answered throughout the chat.  (An example from SMChat) You can pre-populate this information before the chat if you prefer.
  6. You can also include text at the bottom, offering your conclusions or indicating when the next chat will occur.
  7. Most important tip: Click Save Now frequently throughout your creation process in order to preserve your work.

I actually go through the process outlined above as a chat progresses, but you can do it during or after, whichever works best for you.  If you elect to do during the chat, it is best to have 2 windows open; one for Storify and one for your chat platform.

I hope that you find these Keep It Simple Tips helpful, please feel free to add your insights below or ask any questions you may have.  Happy Friday!

**Bonus hint: If you don’t want to use the “favorite” feature, you can choose to “Search” the hashtag that you would like to create a transcript for (you can even do a keyword instead of a hashtag) and then simply click the tweets you want to include in your post and drag them into the left column.  It is important to do this during the chat or right as the chat concludes, especially if people use the hashtag frequently because the stream will continue to grow and it will make it difficult to get to the tweets from the chat.

About amberlcleveland

Entrepreneurial Marketing Professional who is passionate about Social Media and Social Good. My mantra is "endless possibilities."
This entry was posted in business, Customer Service, KIS, Marketing, Public Relations, Social Media, tips, twitter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Keep It Simple – Using Storify to Create a TweetChat Transcript

  1. Do you prefer Tweetchat to Tweetdeck?

    • Yes, when I am participating in chats, I generally will have several windows open. I use hootsuite to see my mentions, but I like tweetchat because it automatically hashtags my tweets. When I don’t use it, I sometimes forget to hashtag.

  2. Hi Amber, thanks for this post. I also work with and participate in several online Twitter chats and on one of the chats I assist #kaizenbiz, we have just begun to use @Storify to create an edited transcript. Great tip about using the favorite option on Twitter to mark tweets to use in a transript.

    I also like that Storify transcripts of chats look more professional. You could show it to a potential sponsor and have them understand it, unlike a raw twitter transcript.

    Our chat has a “framing post” that goes up in advance of the chat which includes a few links and the questions to get people thinking. So in my transcripts, I include the link to the framing post (with a line of text to tell people what it is) then I introduce and link to the articles that were in the post. I like that, in storify, those links actually show the headline and first few sentences of the article, it gives people a clue – rather than just a shortened twitter or bit.ly link.

    I think in my initial storify chat transcript, I put way too much in. I tried to get ALL answers to each question, and to kind of “thread” the comments – if someone later in the chat added an answer to questions 1 (while the chat was on Quesiton 2) – I would move it into the Question 1 section. But that took too much time. I do however run a search for the term A1, A2, A3 – which we ask our participants to use to preface their answers. That way I can scan down and maybe catch some I missed and didn’t favorite.

    We also use @TweetReports / tweetreports.com (the $9/month level) to create a complete transcript, as some people prefer that. You can get an HTML transcript and a PDF version at that level. You just have to filter the results to do your chat hashtag search a few hours before and after your chat to accommodate differing time zones. I also like that Tweet Reports gives us the number of people who participated, the number of tweets, and the number of replies and retweets. It helps us track engagement and participation. The site Hashtracking’s free report (which only lasts a half-hour), also provides “reach” which is an impressive number, if a bit of a fuzzy number.

    I am not affiliated with any of these services, and Amber, sorry fr a comment that is longer than your original post. Cathy Larkin

    • Cathy, thanks for sharing your insights in your comments. I agree, it can be a bit difficult to string the tweets together as they happened (especially when people jump in late). I have found when I do it as the chat progresses, instead of at the end, it is a bit easier for me.

  3. josephruizjr says:

    Great info Amber, Cathy thanks for the added input. I plan to experiment with Storify.

  4. Ruby says:

    What’s up, its pleasant article concerning media print, we all be familiar with media is a impressive source of facts.

  5. Lidia says:

    I don’t leave many comments, but I browsed a few remarks here Keep It Simple – Using Storify to Create a TweetChat Transcript | Amber Cleveland’s Blog.

    I do have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind.
    Could it be only me or does it look like like some of
    these remarks appear like they are coming from brain
    dead individuals? :-P And, if you are writing at additional online sites, I’d like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls of all your social networking pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  6. I delight in, lead to I discovered just what I used to be
    having a look for. You have ended my four day lengthy hunt!
    God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  7. Monte says:

    Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I am
    waiting for your next write ups thank you once again.

  8. cfmoto parts says:

    This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!!
    Finally I have found something which helped me. Appreciate it!

  9. Ashleigh says:

    Wonderful concept here! How can I subscribe to this site? The
    content helped me a great deal. I had been a tiny bit short on personal finance knowledge until browsing this site.

  10. Hi there Dear, are you truly visiting this web page regularly, if so after that
    you will absolutely get fastidious knowledge.

  11. Unquestionably consider that that you stated. Your favourite reason
    appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to take note of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly
    do not recognize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the entire thing with
    no need side effect , peeps could take a signal. Will likely be again to get
    more. Thank you

  12. I am curious to find out what blog platform you happen to be
    working with? I’m having some minor security issues with my latest site and I’d like
    to find something more risk-free. Do you have any recommendations?

  13. I’m not sure exactly why but this blog is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end? I’ll
    check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  14. At this moment I am ready to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming over again to read more
    news.

  15. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your
    website, how can i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of
    this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

  16. Everything is very open with a clear description of the challenges.
    It was definitely informative. Your site is very helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  17. I’m not sure why but this site is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check
    back later and see if the problem still exists.

  18. I have learn several excellent stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so much effort you set to create one of these fantastic informative web
    site.

  19. Antonia says:

    Actually no matter if someone doesn’t be aware of afterward its up to other visitors that they will help, so here it happens.

  20. Hi there Dear, are you truly visiting this web site
    daily, if so then you will without doubt take crucial experience.

  21. content writing is also a fun, if you be familiar with afterward
    you can write otherwise it is complex to write.

  22. Elmer says:

    Hi there, I found your site by means of Google whilst searching for a
    related subject, your site came up, it seems to be good.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just became aware of your blog via Google, and located that it’s really informative. I am going to be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciate should you proceed
    this in future. Many other people might be benefited out of your
    writing. Cheers!

  23. Pretty portion of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert
    that I get in fact loved account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment or even I fulfillment you get right of entry to persistently rapidly.

  24. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this kind of house . When googling I at last stumbled upon this web site. Studying this information So i’m
    satisfied to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I most without a doubt will make sure to do not put out of your mind this web site and provides it a glance on a relentless basis.

  25. Kristie says:

    I’d like to find out more? I’d care to find out some additional
    information.

  26. It’s really very difficult in this active life to listen news on Television, thus I simply use internet for that purpose, and get the newest information.

  27. Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice even as you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a
    web-site web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I were tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright transparent concept

  28. How did these answers get so confused it’s tirin reading them.

  29. It’s very straightforward to find out any matter on web as compared to textbooks, as I found this post at this site.

  30. Noe says:

    Every weekend i used to go to see this website, as i wish for enjoyment, for the
    reason that this this web page conations actually pleasant funny stuff too.

  31. Korey says:

    I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. This kind of
    clever work and reporting! Keep up the terrific work guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll.

  32. I personally didn’t spend very much time doing this, but I can see it’s clearly worth doing.

  33. Mowed both lawns, time for a calming morning browsing the posts on here.
    .. might have to nip to the tip later with some refuse though!

  34. I’ve been trying to find a readable discussion on this for weeks, and this has been a fine help. I’ll be getting this shared on facebook for
    def.

  35. Dolores says:

    That was not the response I was thinking of.

  36. I wish this was on android… however if it did I would probably
    just make content like this all evening and not get anything done.

    ..

  37. When someone writes an piece of writing he/she retains the plan
    of a user in his/her mind that how a user can be aware of it.
    Therefore that’s why this post is great. Thanks!

  38. Arlene says:

    Though its a known fact that smm strategies are one of the
    most important things for any kind of business today, only a
    few marketers succeed in effective implementation of it.
    And price aside, this type of campaign lets companies
    share their brand on a large scale, whether what they sell is affordable or not.
    Its cost-effectiveness has dragged people towards it.

  39. Caroline says:

    I blog often and I seriously thank you for your content. Your article
    has really peaked my interest. I am going to book
    mark your website and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  40. What’s up i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when
    i read this paragraph i thought i could also create comment due
    to this sensible piece of writing.

Leave a Reply

